

Commonwealth of Australia

Published by the Commonwealth of Australia



GOVERNMENT NOTICES

NOTICE: A1214078



ESTABLISHMENT OF A PETROLEUM SAFETY ZONE – NOTICE A1214078 – CONOCOPHILLIPS AUSTRALIA SH2 PTY LTD - VIC/P79 - ESSINGTON-1, CHARLEMONT-1 AND CHARLEMONT-2 WELLS

Commonwealth of Australia

OFFSHORE PETROLEUM AND GREENHOUSE GAS STORAGE ACT 2006

PROHIBITION OF ENTRY INTO A PETROLEUM SAFETY ZONE

I, Chris Bourne, a representative of the National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority [NOPSEMA], pursuant to section 616 of the *Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006* (the Act), hereby prohibit all vessels other than vessels under the control of the registered holders of VIC/P79 and vessels operated by *authorised persons* who are exercising powers under Division 5 of Part 6.6 of the above Act from entering or being present in the area of the safety zone without the consent in writing of NOPSEMA.

This petroleum safety zone extends to a distance of 500 metres, measured from each point of the outer edge of the wells known as Essington-1 (latitude 39° 05' 44.53" South, longitude 142° 48' 43.40" East*), Charlemont-1 (latitude 39° 00' 51.36" South, longitude 142° 36' 28.99" East*) and Charlemont-2 (latitude 39° 01' 33.77" South, longitude 142° 34' 43.94" East*)

*Note: the above are GDA94 coordinates.

The safety zone will be valid from 1 July 2025 to 1 March 2026.

Where an unauthorised vessel enters or remains in the safety zone specified in contravention of this notice, the owner and the person in command or in charge of the vessel are each guilty of an offence against Section 616 of the Act and are punishable, upon conviction, by imprisonment for a term:

- not exceeding 15 years if the breach is determined as intentional.
- not exceeding 12.5 years if the breach is determined as recklessness.
- not exceeding 10 years if the breach is determined as negligence.
- not exceeding 5 years if the breach is determined as an offence of strict liability.

Dated this 27th day of May 2025.

Made under the *Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006* of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Chris Bourne, Director – Exploration & Development Safety Pursuant to the Instrument of delegation dated 31 January 2024 National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority